May 14, 2024, 12:05:06 am

Author Topic: PVP Discussion  (Read 2737 times)

BigDOGboi

• View Profile
PVP Discussion
« on: July 04, 2012, 02:33:08 pm »
Hi,

I'm relatively new to the SMP server and I was wondering the reason why PVP was actually turned off globally. Does it encourage griefing and aggression? Or does it simply mean there will be more whining, and more rabble amongst the server? I for one don't mind PVP, I would just hate to have to type /spawn in order to be safe while I go grab a drink so some prick doesn't decide to back-stab you. Has PVP always been off? Anyway thanks for the warm welcoming to your server, you guys sure treat your Guests well and there isn't any discouraging behaviour which drives me away from other servers. (Including large influxes of young 12 year olds, chat spammers and griefers)

I'm not complaining, I'm just curious!

Bye

FNVcourierjon(SigilStone)

• Champion Member
  • Vault 102 Overseer
    • View Profile
Re: PVP Discussion
« Reply #1 on: July 04, 2012, 03:21:02 pm »
PVP has always been off.  I think soon the server will have a PVP area/arena.

morgosin

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 04, 2012, 03:25:28 pm »
There is currently no pvp, Because of all the issues with people killing for items, the drama around murdering someone. And all around encouraging griefers to also kill for fun.

There has been talk about a pvp arena of sorts. But it, I believe, is still in the thinking stages and not much chance for it to be implemented quickly.
Sometimes life sucks.... but then you see a picture of Bowsette and everything gets better.

illiwill

• Smp Trusted/Classic Recruit
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: July 04, 2012, 04:20:05 pm »
Also, what fun is it to leave the spawn, just to get killed?

ViperZeroOne

• Champion Member
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: July 04, 2012, 04:23:21 pm »
PVP has been discussed pretty much weekly for as long as I've been here...  Short answer, not gonna happen.